Cloud storage is not just about remotely storing your files and syncing them up to all of your devices.

Apple’s new iCloud KeyChain now allows you to store all of your essential usernames, passwords, Wi-Fi details, and credit card info, as encrypted files. These can then be shared with devices you authorize through the iCloud cloud storage system.

There are numerous benefits to this. For example if you usually login to a particular service on your Desktop and the details are now remembered by the browser, but you decide to access it on your iPhone and can’t remember the details, the KeyChain will have all the info you need.

Likewise if you’re adding a new device to your Wi-Fi and can’t be bothered to rummage around in your welcome pack for the login info, the KeyChain will be able to pull it from the cloud.

You can also store email info, calendars, contacts, social media accounts etc, for easy synchronisation across all of your devices.

Keychain technology is nothing new. Apple have been using it since the late 90s to securely manage passwords, but it just got a whole lot more practical with the ability for cross device compatibility.

Of course in order to get the benefit of iCloud KeyChain you will need multiple Apple devices, and there is currently no way to use it on other devices running Android or Windows. Web browser usernames and passwords can also only be synced from the Safari browser.

App developers can include KeyChain functionality, so password details for many apps can also be synced to your other devices.

Users will need the most recent operating systems to begin using iCloud KeyChain, such as OS X Mavericks 10.9 for iMacs and MacBooks, and iOS 7.0.3 for iPhones and iPads. As long as this is the case, there is no limit to the amount of devices that can sync up to the KeyChain.

How To Setup iCloud KeyChain

You will be promoted to use iCloud KeyChain as soon as you upgrade to iOS 7.0.3, alternatively you can activate it simply by going to setting.

On Macs go to system preferences and there is a Keychain option.

Once you have setup your first device, additional devices are added in the same way. You then simply have to approve the new device from the original.